Friday, January 29, 2010

Numbers in the Bible

Three denotes divine perfection;

Seven denotes spiritual perfection;

Ten denotes ordinal perfection; and

Twelve denotes governmental perfection.

My favorite number is 4.

It marks the followings of the revelation of God in the Trinity (The Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit). God is known by the things that are seen. Hence the written revelation commences with the words, "In the beginning God CREATED." Creation is therefore the next thing—the fourth thing, and the number four always has reference to all that is created.

It is emphatically the number of Creation.

Four is the number of the great elements—earth, air, fire, and water.

Four are the regions of the earth—north, south, east, and west.

Four are the divisions of the day—morning, noon, evening, and midnight.

Four are the seasons of the year—spring, summer, autumn, and winter.

Four dimensions contain all we can experience; length, width, height and time.

Four heads of animal creation: the lion, of wild beasts; the ox, of tame beasts; the eagle, of birds; and man the head of all.

Four kinds of Flesh—three are animals (beasts, birds, and fishes); while one is human (man).

My immediate family has my dad, my mom, my sister and me.

4 reminds me of family and 4 reminds me of Creation, which reminds me that God created Me.